Image-empty-state.png

Bjørk

Piano, Double Bass, Arts & Crafts

Swedish, Danish, English, learning Dutch

My name is Bjørk, and I'm a 23-year-old musician from Sweden/Denmark.

I moved to Amsterdam in 2020, where I study jazz double bass at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam, but I also play the piano, write, and do a lot of arts and crafts. I grew up in a very creative environment filled with music, art, and community, and from it, I learned to value and communicate them as an important teaching method. As I grew older, I also developed a significant interest in pedagogy and psychology.

I work with children as a babysitter and music teacher, activities that allowed me to have the opportunity to explore deep concepts such as soundpainting, where children (and adults) are taught how to improvise and compose in real-time, among others. I have seen with my own eyes how much joy it can bring to create, and I’m looking forward to continuing to share it. Creativity and art allow us to explore concepts that will stay with us forever.

I believe that music and art is a great tool to develop empathy and expression, and I think it's a great way to teach concepts that we're going to be facing in our everyday lives. I want to help children connect to the explorer's mind and teach them how to be receptive and empathetic to people’s stories and emotions. And most of all, I want them to have fun and be curious about it!
Communication, improvisation, and exploration are keywords for me when I work with children.